home | membership |  constitution |  newsletters |  heritage | blog

The Fremantle Society

This is not the official website of the Fremantle Society, tho it has everything that one does, and more. The official website mostly runs WordPress.com, and as a blog, and so is less functional than this html site.

The Fremantle Society was established on 6 December 1972 to improve the quality of life in Fremantle while seeking to protect the existing unique built and cultural heritage. The foundation president was Les Lauder.

fightingAddress all general correspondence to the Secretary: PO Box 828, Fremantle WA 6160.
Email: john.dowson@yahoo.com
The Society currently meets in Mouat St on the 2nd Tuesday of each month.

President: John Dowson
Secretary: John Dowson
Acting Treasurer: Jack Turnbull
Members: Pat Baker, Jeremy Bean, Robert Bodkin, Michael Finn, Adele Gaskin, Agnieshka Kiera, Peter Scott, Ian Molyneux

See also the list of past Committees.

Aims and Objectives

To give responsible voice on matters affecting the overall character and development of the Fremantle area.
To encourage the improvement of the Fremantle area as a desirable residential and commercial district whilst retaining its unique character.
To encourage the retention and restoration of buildings and settings of historic and aesthetic value.
To encourage the preservation of the natural heritage of the Fremantle area.
To ensure that the new development complements established patterns, is of high architectural and aesthetic standards, and serves the long-term interests of the area.
To foster the development of the area as a major cultural, educational and entertainment centre.

See also: the email archive - which is a MailChimp creature, and only goes back so far.

Garry Gillard | New: 13 March, 2018 | Now: 29 May, 2018